Related Topics: International Relations, Climate Change


  • The BASIC countries — a grouping of Brazil, South Africa, India and China — held their 28th Ministerial meeting on Climate Change between August 14 and August 16 in Sao Paulo, Brazil.
  • India was represented by Union Minister for Environment, Forest and Climate Change, who underlined the importance of the grouping in “making the 2015 Paris climate Agreement accepted by all countries in its true letter and spirit”.
  • The Meeting was held in the run-up to United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCC) Conference of Parties (COP-25) meet scheduled to be held in December 2019.


Highlights of the Meeting

  • In the joint statement, ministers reaffirmed their commitment to the successful implementation of the UNFCCC, the Kyoto Protocol and the Paris Agreement, in accordance with the principles of equity and common but differentiated responsibilities and respective capabilities (CBDR-RC).
  • It stated the importance of “responsible, comprehensive, urgent and ambitious actions against climate change, including in the urban environment.”
  • The grouping jointly urged developed countries to fulfill their climate finance commitments of mobilizing $100 billion annually by 2020 for developing countries on a grant basis and in a transparent manner.
[Under the Green Climate Fund (GCF) mechanism, the developed countries are expected to jointly mobilize $100 billion per year by 2020, from a variety of sources, to address the mitigation and adaptation needs of developing countries]
  • This support should be new and additional, and over and above their 0.7% of Gross National Product (GNP) commitment with respect to Official Development Assistance (ODA).
  • The Meeting highlighted the significant gaps in pre-2020 climate efforts of developed countries not only in mitigation, but also in adaptation and support to developing countries.
  • The ministers underlined that the “implementation gaps” (on the part of rich nations) should not present a burden to developing countries in the post-2020 period.
  • It was decided that China will host the next meeting of the BASIC Ministers.


Who are the BASIC countries?

  • The BASIC countries are a bloc of four advanced developing countries namely Brazil, South Africa, India and China.
  • It was formed as the result of an agreement signed by the four countries on November 28, 2009.
  • The signatory nations, all recently industrialised, committed to acting together at the upcoming United Nations Climate Change Conference, commonly known as the Copenhagen Summit, scheduled in Copenhagen, Denmark from December 7-18 of that year (2009).


Significance of Grouping

  • These four countries collectively account for one-third of world’s geographical area and nearly 40% of world’s population.
  • Since 2009, the BASIC group of countries have cooperated in international climate negotiations, reflecting their aspiration to have a larger say in global politics.
  • These nations have a broadly common position on reducing greenhouse gas emissions and raising the massive funds that are needed to fight climate change.


[Sources: The Hindu, Indian Express, Times of India, PIB]


About the author

Talent KAS

Leave a Comment

The maximum upload file size: 750 MB.
You can upload: image, document, text.