Written by Talent KAS

Related Topics: Internal Security, Indian Air Force


  • The Indian Air Force (IAF) has resurrected the Air Force Station (AFS) Ambala-based 17 Squadron ‘Golden Arrows’, which will operate the first squadron of Rafale fighter jets in the near future.
  • Rafale is an extremely capable, 4th generation, multirole aircraft with advanced weapons.

IAF’s 17 Squadron

  • The 17 Squadron was raised at Ambala on October 01, 1951, under the command of Flight Lieutenant D.L. Springett and initially equipped with the Harvard-II B aircraft.
  • By November 1955, Squadron was converted fully to De Havilland Vampire.
  • By 1957, Hawker Hunter aircraft were flown by the ‘Golden Arrows’.
  • The Squadron was converted to the Mig-21 M in 1975.
  • The ‘Golden Arrows’ 17 Squadron was commanded by Air Chief Marshal Dhanoa during the Kargil war in 1999.
  • The squadron, which operated from Bhatinda airbase, was disbanded in 2016 after the IAF started gradual phasing out of Russian-origin Mig 21 jets.

Training Program

  • Between October 2019 and May 2020, three batches — each comprising eight IAF pilots along with engineers and technicians — would undergo advanced training on the Indian jets in France.
  • The Indian standard Rafale incorporating all the India Specific Enhancements (ISEs) would be operationally ready, latest by September 2021.
  • In September 2016, India and France signed a €7.87 billion Inter-Governmental Agreement (IGA) for 36 Rafale multi-role fighter jets in fly-away condition.
[Source: The Hindu]

About the author

Talent KAS

Leave a Comment

The maximum upload file size: 750 MB.
You can upload: image, document, text.