Written by Talent KAS

Related Topics: Culture, Indian Polity


Meghalaya’s bid to exclude “unrepresented tribes” from the provisions of the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution has left minor tribes in the state in a worrisome situation.

Major Communities

Meghalaya is divided into autonomous councils in the names of the three major matrilineal communities — Garo, Khasi and Jaintia.

Minority Tribes

The minority tribes in Meghalaya include the Hajong, Koch, Rabha, Boro and Mann.

Sixth Schedule of Indian Constitution

  • Parts or the whole of the four northeastern States — Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura — fall under the Sixth Schedule.
  • As per Article 244 and 6th Schedule, these areas are called “Tribal Areas“, which are technically different from the Scheduled Areas under fifth schedule.
  • The Governors of these four states are empowered to organise and re-organise the autonomous districts.
  • If there are different tribes in an autonomous district, the governor can divide the district into several autonomous regions.

Concerns of Minority Tribes

  • Recently, a sub-committee constituted by the State government had decided to recommend to the Standing Committee of Parliament, the removal of the word “unrepresented tribes” from the amended Sixth Schedule.
  • Currently, members of such tribes are nominated to the autonomous district councils.

[Source: The Hindu]


About the author

Talent KAS

Leave a Comment

The maximum upload file size: 750 MB.
You can upload: image, document, text.