Culture News


Written by Talent KAS


UNESCO has designated Mumbai as a member of UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) in the field of ‘Film’ and Hyderabad in the field of Gastronomy’.

What is UCCN?

  • It was created in 2004 to promote cooperation with and among cities that have identified creativity as a strategic factor for sustainable urban development.
  • It is a network of cities which are thriving, active centres of cultural activities in their respective countries.
  • The member cities that form part of the Network come from all continents and regions with different income levels and populations.
  • They work together towards a common mission: placing creativity and the creative economy at the core of their urban development plans to make cities safe, resilient, inclusive and sustainable, in line with the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.


The 7 categories for recognition under UCCN are as follows-

  • Crafts and Folk Arts
  • Design
  • Film
  • Gastronomy
  • Music
  • Media Arts
  • Literature

Other Indian cities recognized as members of UCCN

  • Jaipur – Crafts and Folk Arts (2015)
  • Varanasi – Creative city of Music (2015)
  • Chennai – Creative city of Music (2017)

[Source: PIB]

About the author

Talent KAS