Culture News


Written by Talent KAS

Related Topic in KAS Prelims Syllabus:

Ancient and Medieval History [Paper-I]: Art, culture, literature and Architecture


Odisha government decided to hand over the control of the Govardhan Math to Puri’s Shankaracharya Swami Nischalananda Saraswati by taking it out of the purview of the Orissa Hindu Religious Endowment Act, 1951.

Odisha Hindu Religious Endowments (Amendment) Bill, 2019

  • Odisha government controls over 16000 temples and 450 Mutts (Hindu monasteries) in the state through the Odisha Hindu Religious Endowment Act, 1951.
  • The government appoints trustees for each temple or Mahants for the mutts for day-to-day management and is the sole arbiter as regards to the sale of mutt properties.
  • Govardhan Mutt, Puri was excluded from the Odisha Hindu Religious Endowment Act 1951 and made an autonomous body by an amendment to the Act in the Odisha State Assembly.
  • Thus, the Gobardhan Math will no longer be governed by the provisions of the OHRE Act, 1951.

Govardhan Math

  • The Govardhan Math, which is currently headed by Shree Nischalananda Saraswati, is one of the oldest mutts of Puri.
  • It is associated with the Jagannath temple and is one of the four cardinal mutts founded by Adi Shankara.
  • It is the only such math currently controlled by a State Act.
  • The other three mutts namely Sharada Math at Sringeri in Karnataka, Dwarka Math in Gujarat and Jyotir Math at Joshimath in Uttarakhand are functioning autonomously.
  • These four mutts, each headed by a Shankaracharya, preach traditional Sanatan Dharm.
[Source: The Hindu, Hindustan Times]

About the author

Talent KAS