News Polity & Governance


Written by Talent KAS

Related Topic in KAS Prelims Syllabus:    

Governance [Paper-I]: Issues and challenges pertaining to Federal Structure, Public Policy and Governance


  • The inner line permit (ILP) regime was extended to Manipur with President Ram Nath Kovind signing the order in this effect.
  • Union Home Minister assured political and civil society representatives from the Northeastern states that the Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB) would provide protection to such regions and states where the Inner Line Permit (ILP) is applicable, and autonomous administration has been granted under the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution.

What is Inner Line Permit?

  • Inner Line Permit is a document that allows an Indian citizen to visit or stay in a state that is protected under the ILP system.
  • Manipur is the fourth State after Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Mizoram where the ILP regime is applicable.
  • An ILP is issued by the state government It can be obtained after applying either online or physically.
  • It states the dates of travel and also specifies the particular areas in the state which the ILP holder can travel to.

Colonial Legacy

  • Under the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation Act, 1873, the British framed regulations restricting the entry and regulating the stay of outsiders in designated areas.
  • This was to protect the Crown’s own commercial interests by preventing “British subjects” (Indians) from trading within these regions.
  • In 1950, the Indian government replaced “British subjects” with “Citizen of India”. This was to address local concerns about protecting the interests of the indigenous people from outsiders belonging to other Indian states.

How it is connected with Constitution Amendment Bill?

  • Citizenship (Amendment) Bill aims to make it easier for refugees belonging to Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi and Christian communities from Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Afghanistan to obtain Indian citizenship.
  • Those states where ILP is applicable will not be affected by Citizen Amendment Bill (CAB).
  • It means that beneficiaries under CAB will become Indian citizens but will not be able to settle in these four states.
  • Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland are not among those drastically affected by migration from Bangladesh. Mizoram shares a border with Bangladesh.
  • The three states that have seen the highest migration, however, are Assam, Tripura and Meghalaya, none of which has an ILP system.
[Source: The Hindu, Indian Express]

About the author

Talent KAS

Leave a Comment

The maximum upload file size: 750 MB.
You can upload: image, document, text.